The Milk and the Maid

Joseph Dinh

11 – 20 – 2014

Once upon a time there lived a maid.  The maid was milking a cow, and when she was bringing the milk back to the house, she was thinking of future plans.  The maid was talking to herself and said, “This rich milk will make plenty of butter.  When I have butter, I will sell them and will buy chickens.  When I buy chickens, I will have eggs.  When I have eggs, I will sell them and will have enough money to buy a new dress.  When I have a new pretty dress, the men will come up to me and make me love them, but I will quickly send them off to their work.”

She jumped up, and the milk fell out.  All the butter , the chickens, the eggs, and the pretty new dress are all gone.

 

Count your eggs before you sell them.

 

The End

This entry was posted in Aesop Fables and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment